May Hill Edition
May Hill Edition is a collection of compositions and arrangements, mostly by Steve Marshall, although other composers are represented. Over the years Steve has written a lot of music for choirs, opera groups, jazz and rock bands and the theatre, but May Hill Edition concentrates on music for recorders.

You can listen before you buy by clicking on the next to each piece. This loads a midi file, so remember that the sound will only be as good as your computer's soundcard.

The list of pieces is growing all the time, so come back often to look at additions.

If you have any questions, please email Steve on

The prices quoted are for a score and a set of parts, and include UK postage & packing.

If you are in the UK, you are welcome to pay by cheque.
Please send your order to
  S C Marshall
  Coleman's Cottage
  May Hill
  GL17 0NP
Please make cheques payable to
S C Marshall
not May Hill Edition.

You are now able to order online, and pay with a credit or debit card, using the excellent PayPal system. All you need is a card and an email address - click the 'Buy Now' button next to a piece, and you will be gently guided.

This is also an ideal way of paying if you are an overseas customer. As you go through the payment process you will be shown the price for overseas delivery.

Sound Files

We are moving to a new system for listening to the music on this site. With the old system, not everyone could hear them, and the quality was variable.

The new system allows the music to be heard on all devices (PC, Mac, Phones, Tablets).

There is an enormous number of sound files, and these will be converted gradually, so you may see the new format (which will be in luxurious technicolour for everyone!) or in the old format (which you may not be able to listen to at all, even in black and white)

If you wish to see this information again, please click on the link at the bottom of the page.